Telephone

0131 651 4743

Email

christine.knight@ed.ac.uk

Room

Building

St John's Land, Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AQ

Biography

I began work at the University of Edinburgh in June 2008, at the ESRC Genomics Policy and Research Forum. From June 2013 I will be a visiting researcher in Science, Technology and Innovation Studies.

My background is in literary studies, more recently moving into cultural and food studies. I hold a Bachelor of Arts (Hons 1st class) and PhD in English, both from the University of Adelaide, South Australia.

I have a longstanding interest in interdisciplinarity and engagement with audiences outside the humanities and social sciences, including policymakers, scientists and the general public. For my PhD I received joint support from, and was based at, the Human Nutrition Division of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO). Before joining the University of Edinburgh I worked in government and parliamentary research in South Australia.

Current work

My current projects span the following topics, integrating research and knowledge exchange in their design and outputs:

• Nostalgia and primitivism in contemporary nutritional thought, and how these relate to genetic and evolutionary models of obesity and diabetes
  • The regulation of embryo research and assisted reproductive technologies in the UK
  • Knowledge brokers and knowledge exchange in the social sciences
  • What Scientists Read: How does literature influence scientific thought and practice?

Publications

Journal articles

(with C Lightowler) “Sustaining knowledge exchange and research impact in the social sciences and humanities: Investing in knowledge broker roles in UK universities.” Evidence & Policy 9.3 (forthcoming).

(with M Smith) “The Human Fertilisation and Embryology Act 2008.” New Genetics and Society 32.2 (2013).